Movie Review #2

I’m watching movies a lot more now. It rocks, thanks to online video rentals. What a great idea. I’m deeper in my conquest to become an even bigger nerd. I also might start keeping a “movie notebook”, to write comments as I watch these thangs and so I won’t forget.

To me, the best part about the movie is the feeling you get when you are finished with it for the first time. How does the movie make you feel? If you really like it, you’ll probably be asking yourself (and others) lots of questions. If you really thought it was lame, then you’ll most likely be making fun of everything about it and you will be a little furious that you wasted your time on it. Retain that feeling. Document it. That’s the whole purpose of me even caring enough to blog this crap. But I know people like movies so maybe they will be interested to hear my thoughts. I know a thing of two about film. I took a few classes at VCU. Ok, enough of me sounding lame. My wild and crazy Saturday consisted of 2 movies.

First I’ll start with the bad movie. Aeon Flux

text/oldskoolaeon

I didn’t show the movie poster cuz it’s lame and nothing new in the genre of female action movies. I’d rather pay homage to the character that kept me interested as a wee little lad. This movie is nothing like the animated series that I grew to love as I grew up with MTV. I should have known this when I saw that it was rated PG-13 because the animation was kinda morbid and sinister-like. And even though Charlize Theron looks much more attractive than this ripped dominatrix from the animated series, I was kinda let down with this adaptation. I think the two screenwriters from this film hung out on the set of The Island and ripped off their plot or something. The dialogue was super weak. Acting was horrible but that was kind of expected.

text/charlizeflux

Once again, I can look at Charlize with jet black or blond hair, but I don’t think she was the one for this part. Hell, Angelina the Tomb Raider could have done it better. Or even the chick from Underworld, which I’ve never seen or have the desire to see. I guess those would have been the obvious casting choices.

I did enjoy the sets, the visual effects, and most of the action sequences. I kind of wish I had seen this in the theater for the visual experience but this movie wasn’t worth $8 bucks. I also appreciate how the environment is bright and organic as opposed to the industrial gloom that is depicted in the animated series and in most futuristic films. Good choice.

Not a total waste of my time. 2.5 out of 5.

Next is the awesome movie I watched, The Weather Man

text/movieposter

This movie does not look that exciting, according to this movie poster and the website. So don’t tease me if you start to read this and follow my research. But I am a fan of Nicholas Cage and I know how good he is in the scheme of playing the pathetic person. Adaptation, Leaving Las Vegas and Matchstick Men all came to mind when I watched this film. This character stands out among his role in those films because he doesn’t take sh!t from anyone as the weather man.

You must watch this. It’s hilarious but also serious. The plot revolves pretty much around the subject of family relationships. My favorite connection involves the father (Cage) and his daughter. All I can say is: camel toes and archery. And I will leave the rest for you to enjoy.

text/weatherman

I mean, would you really want to bother this guy on the street? Even if he was the famous local weather guy?

I might buy this one. 4.5 out of 5.

4 Responses to “Movie Review #2”

  1. WannabeLikeMark Says:

    * golf clap *

    Now please get yourself drunk and laid tonight

  2. Chels Says:

    I loved the weather man.
    i have to agree with your review mr.

  3. j.verhine Says:

    can i request a review?
    since tv is produced like movies nowadays,
    i’d like to hear what you have to say about the sopranos.

  4. kristin Says:

    I too loved the weather man.

Leave a Reply

